You can hover over an attack to see its Potency.

Auto attack power is a good indicator of an ability’s power. ..

Potency affects your damage output by increasing the amount of damage you deal. ..

How Does Potency Work?

For this explanation, I’ll be using attacks and Potency numbers from my Gunbreaker’s rotations & equipment as an example. In order to understand how effective my Gunbreaker’s rotations & equipment are, let’s take a look at some attacks and Potency numbers. For example, let’s say that I have a Gunbreaker with the following attacks: -Attack: +5% Damage -Potency: 100% -Attack Speed: 1.5x -Defense: 25% -Damage Resistance: 25% Now let’s say that I equip my Gunbreaker with the following equipment: -Armor: +10% Damage Resistance -Shield: +25% Damage Resistance Now my Gunbreaker has the following attack power and damage resistance abilities (assuming they are active when I equip the gear): Attack Power (HP): 350/1000 (350) Attack Speed (MP): 1.5x/1.5x (1.5) Defense (HP): 25/50 (25) Damage Resistance (HP): 25/25 (25%) Now my Gunbreaker can deal an additional 350/1000 damage (+10% damage resistance), or an additional 1.5x/1.5x damage (+25% damage resistance), or an additional 25/50 damage (+25% damage resistance), or an additional 25/25 damage (+25% damage resistance) per second with its attack power and defense abilities activated.

The basic idea behind the salary negotiation process is that you and your potential employer are trying to come to an agreement on a salary that will be fair for both of you. The numbers won’t be exactly the same across every job, but the theory remains the same. ..

The Auto Attack value of the weapon is 106.40. The weapon’s Delay is 2.80.

Every 2.80 seconds, my character will automatically attack for 106.40 damage.

My opening attacks in my single target damage rotation can be fired off one after another, quickly dealing damage to your target.

Keen Edge has 200 potency and following skills Brutal Shell and Solid Barrel have 100 each. ..

Burst Strike has a 500 potency, so performing it three times will give you a full Cartridge slot. ..

I can reach a total of 900 Potency in about the time it takes me to auto attack twice for a total of 212.8.

With the further steps in my rotation provided by Continuation, that number gets even higher.

In the time it would take to fire off a handful of auto attacks, I could be doing something else.

-A basic Gunbreaker AOE rotation is:

  1. Cast your spell, then use your weapon to deal damage to all enemies in a cone in front of you.
  2. Use your weapon to block enemy projectiles, then use your spell again to deal damage to all enemies in the cone.
  3. Repeat steps 1-3 as needed.

AOE attacks will typically have less potency because they hit anything within a certain area. In my case, that’ll be basically anything currently smacking me with melee attacks (which should be everything if I’m doing my job right).

I’d open with Demon Slice and Demon Slaughter, which have 150 and 100 Potency respectively, and would then have the option of using a Cartridge to use Fated Circle for 320.

That’s 570 potency in total, where my single target rotation gets to 900.

It sounds like a dramatic drop in damage, right? But when you consider that my AOE rotation is hitting multiple enemies for over half of what my single target rotation would, those numbers quickly add up in the heat of battle.

Do I Need To Learn About Potency?

Damage dealt in Final Fantasy XIV is not simply a function of your potency, but also of your weapon’s stats, your target’s defense, and other factors. ..

In DPS output, it’s not the last word.

This stat provides a consistent number of hits per second, which is important for damage calculation.

Potency does not increase or fluctuate as you level up.

Potency is a measure of how well a person can do something. It’s important to understand how Potency affects one’s abilities in order to better understand oneself.

Despite the fact that Potency is free, some players may find it helpful.